New York Public Library Board of Trustees

Evan R. Chesler


Evan R. Chesler was appointed Chairman of The New York Public Library's Board of Trustees in November, 2014. He is Chairman of prominent law firm Cravath, Swaine, & Moore LLP

Chesler handles a variety of litigation for his firm, and is a fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers, a fellow of the American Bar Foundation, a fellow of the New York Bar Foundation, and a member of the Council of the American Law Institute. He is also the President of the Dwight Opperman Institute of Judicial Administration, the oldest nonpartisan organization in the United States devoted to the education of the judiciary.

Additionally, Chesler is an adjunct professor at New York University Law School and has taught at NYU’s College of Arts and Science. He is on the boards of both New York University and the New York University School of Law. He received his undergraduate and legal degrees from NYU, and holds a master’s degree in Russian area studies from Hunter College.

Board of Trustees meeting schedule - 2018

As of  November 2018

Kwame Anthony Appiah
Peter Baldwin
John H. Banks III
Mahnaz Ispahani Bartos
John P. Birkelund +
Lisa J. Blau

Samuel C. Butler +
Sila M. Calderón +
Joan Hardy Clark +
Evan R. Chesler, Chairman
Richard D. Cohen
Lewis B. Cullman +
Robert Darnton +
Gordon J. Davis +
Anne E. de la Renta +
James H. Duffy +
H.R.H. Princess Firyal
Barbara G. Fleischman +
Henry Louis Gates, Jr.
William Gray
Louise L. Grunwald +
Ethan Hawke

John B. Hess
Robert A. Katzmann

Patricia D. Klingenstein +
Arthur W. Koenig

Beth Kojima
Jane Lauder
Robert Liberman*
Scott Malkin
Victor Marrero +
Catherine Marron
Anthony W. Marx, President and Chief Executive Officer
Harold W. McGraw III
Raymond J. McGuire
Robert B. Menschel +
Abby S. Milstein, Vice Chairman
Susan Morgenthau
Toni Morrison+
Jessye Norman
Carl H. Pforzheimer III +
Charles Phillips
Richard L. Plepler
Harold Prince +
Katharine J. Rayner
David Remnick
Carlos Rodriguez-Pastor
Marshall Rose +
Neil L. Rudenstine +
Andrés Santo Domingo
Stephen A. Schwarzman
Dinakar Singh
Gayfryd Steinberg
George Stephanopoulos
James S. Tisch
Calvin Trillin +
Luis A. Ubiñas
Edgar Wachenheim III +
Sue Ann Weinberg +
Tali Farhadian Weinstein
Anthony A. Yoseloff
The Honorable Bill de Blasio (Representative: Jill H. Bright)
The Honorable Corey Johnson (Representative: Matthew R. Ailey)
The Honorable Scott M. Stringer (Representative: TBD)

+Life Trustee
*Foundation Trustee